Oversees the vegan and raw foods industry
A vegan restaurant would not have a hard time getting kosher certification. However, as long as there is no such certification one should not eat there.
There are many reasons why a strictly vegan establishment requires kosher certification. Here are a few of them:
It is possible for a minute quantity of animal products to be included in a vegan-certified food. According to the Vegan Society, an outfit which licenses vegan foods, “vegan products must, as far as is possible and practical, be entirely free from animal involvement.” Furthermore they state, “Animal products are sometimes used in instances that are not immediately obvious.”1
All utensils used to prepare kosher food, as well as countertops, ovens, etc., must be kosher. Meaning, if they were previously used for non-kosher foods, they must be koshered before being used for kosher food preparation.
Wine and grape juice are not kosher unless they are certified kosher (see Wine and Grape Products). Even if the restaurant doesn’t have a wine list, many dishes include wine or grape juice in their ingredients.
Certain foods must be cooked or baked by a Jew in order to be kosher (see Baked and Cooked Foods).
To repeat, however, it is certainly much easier for a vegan eatery to receive and maintain kosher certification. If your neighborhood has a kosher consumer base, perhaps ask the restaurant management to consider this not-so-difficult option which could increase its clientele.
Rabbi Eliezer Posner Chabad
The word “vegan” was coined in 1944 by Donald Watson, founder of the Vegan Society, who combined the first three and last two letters of vegetarian to form “vegan,” which he saw as “the beginning and end of vegetarian.
“Vegan” is pronounced /ˈviːɡən/. Some people pronounce “vegan” as /ˈvɛdʒən/, but Watson and the North American Vegetarian Society consider the latter pronunciation to be incorrect.
An animal product is any material derived from animals. Notable animal products include meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, dairy products, honey, fur, leather, wool, and silk. Common animal products also include gelatin, lanolin, rennet, whey, casein, beeswax, isinglass, carmine, and shellac.
Animal products such as ground bone and powdered fish organs may be used in the production of a product although they may not appear as an ingredient in the final product. Many of these ingredients are obscure, may also have non-animal sources, and may not even be identified. Although the organization Vegan Outreach has the opinion that “it can be prohibitively expensive and time-consuming to shun every minor or hidden animal-derived ingredient”, the Vegan Society will not certify a product as vegan unless its production does not involve, or have involved, the use of any animal product, by-product or derivative.
Data regarding the number of vegans is available in some countries.
A 2002 Time/CNN poll found that 4% of American adults identify as vegetarians, and 5% of vegetarians identify as vegans, which implies that 0.2% of American adults are vegans. In 2008, Harris Interactive conducted a survey for Vegetarian Times, which indicated that approximately 0.5% of Americans identify as vegan. Harris Interactive also conducted surveys for the Vegetarian Resource Group in both 2006 and 2009. The survey listed specific foods and asked respondents to indicate which items they never eat, rather than asking respondents to self-identify as vegetarian or vegan. In 2006, 1.4% of respondents reported never eating meat, poultry, fish, seafood, dairy products, or eggs and were thus essentially vegan in their eating habits. In 2009, 1.3% of respondents reported never eating these products, including 0.8% of respondents who also avoided honey. The 2006 survey found that about 1.4% of men and 1.3% of women have vegan diets. According to an Aramark survey, one of every four college students in the U.S. is seeking vegan options on campus.
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Raw veganism is a diet which combines veganism and raw foodism. It excludes all food of animal origin, and all food cooked above 48 degrees Celsius (118 degrees Fahrenheit). A raw vegan diet includes raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and nut pastes, grain and legume sprouts, seeds, plant oils, sea vegetables, herbs, and fresh juices. There are many different versions of the diet, including fruitarianism, juicearianism, and sproutarianism. Sometimes the definition of a raw vegan diet is loosened to include vegan diets with at least 75% raw foods.
In addition to the ethics of eating meat, dairy, eggs and honey, raw vegans may be motivated by:
Some raw vegans believe that cooking foods destroys the complex balance of micronutrients. They also believe that, in the cooking process, dangerous chemicals are produced by the heat interaction with fat, protein, and carbohydrates.
Some raw vegans are concerned about deforestation and sustainability. The use of wood or fossil fuels for cooking is harmful to the environment.
Spiritual and/or philosophical reasons
Many dedicated followers of a raw vegan diet place importance on spiritual gain. Ruthann Russo states, “The raw food movement looks at the way food, living, treatment of the earth, our treatment of each other, and our quest for physical, spiritual, and mental health all fit together.”
Raw vegans must ensure that their intake of vitamin B12 is adequate, since it is produced by bacteria and does not occur reliably in plant foods. Vitamin B12 deficiency can have serious consequences such as anemia and neurodegenerative disease. The Vegan Society and Vegan Outreach, among others, recommend that vegans either consistently eat foods fortified with B12 or take a B12 supplement.Tempeh, seaweed, spirulina, organic produce, soil, and intestinal bacteria have not been shown to be reliable sources of B12 for the dietary needs of vegans.Vitamin B12 can be found in nutritional yeast that has been fortified with B12. Two tablespoons of Red Star® Vegetarian Support Formula, a B12-fortified nutritional yeast, can provide 133% of a raw vegan’s daily needs of B12. Most commercially sold soy milks are also fortified with B12.
When I was diagnosed with allergies to wheat and dairy back in 2003, I thought my whole world was going to crumble. I was so confused about these allergies so I headed to the grocery store to see what my options were. It only made things worse. Gluten and dairy were in everything, it seemed and the products that were ok for me to eat were not appetizing or appealing in any way. I pouted my way down the aisles of the grocery store and ended up buying an Asian pear and a box of tissue to wipe away my tears. (more…)
Making hummus isn’t too hard, but it’s not all about having the right recipe. Our simple recipe for traditional homemade hummus, comes with a little of our hummus-philosophy. (more…)
This is a recipe that I have adapted over the years. The origin is Sephardic and although our family is Ashkenazi, I think this is much more flavorful and interesting than the apple walnut and wine version. Our tradition is to form the Haroset into the shape of a pyramid and place it in the center of our Seder table. I place two small olive wood camels on the plate next to the pyramid.
3 cups dates, diced
1/2 cups almond, coarsely chopped
1 1/2 cups apples, peeled and diced
3/4 cup sweet concord wine
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 cup shelled pistachio nuts
1/2 cup yellow raisins, slightly pulverized in Cuisinart
1 orange, peeled and diced
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
Combine all ingredients and blend well. Shape into pyramid.